Male Champions

2014 Champion - Khai Tran



It’s often the perception in life that bigger is better, but it’s not always the case that bigger creates better. While some martial artists want to train at the biggest gyms in the country, some of the best athletes around can be found training in some of the smallest schools. Sensei Ettore Senatore, his son Delio and close friend Khai Tran run Seishin-Ryu Karate-do Australia, a small school in Queensland that packs a big punch. Their dominance on the NAS tournament circuit over the past few years brings an old saying to mind — ‘It’s not the size of the dog in the fight, it's the size of the fight in the dog.’

Read more: 2014 Champion - Khai Tran


2013 Champion - Khai Tran


At the end of every year, Black-belt martial artists from across the country duke it out on the battleground known as the National All Styles Australian Championships, vying for the coveted title of NAS Champion of Champions — aka the best open-weight point-fighter Down Under. The men’s contest had been dominated by talented Queenslander Delio Senatore for the previous two years, but in 2013 the reigning champ was outdone by training partner Khai Tran, who made it a hat trick for their club, Seishin Ryu Karate. Now looking to make it four in a row in 2014, Tran recently chatted to Blitz about his inspirations, his training methods and the secret behind Sensei Ettore Senatore’s knack for producing top sport-karate fighters.

Read more: 2013 Champion - Khai Tran


2012 Champion - Delio Senatore


Year in, year out, the National All Styles Championship manages to attract the country's top martial artists and unites them through exhilarating competition with participants gunning for the prestigious title of Champion of Champions. The 2012 championship served up a slew of electrifying contests featuring some fresh, up-and-coming talent as well as some familiar faces. At the end of the weekend, Delio Senatore of Seishin-Ryu Karate-Do solidified his billing as one of NAS' all-time greatest fighters, lifting the Champion of Champion's trophy for the second year running. Fighting just as hard as her male counterparts, NAS rookie Natasha Gaspersz of Go-Kan-Ryu karate emphatically announced herself to the competition by taking the female title. Blitz caught up with the two champions to talk about their wins, training and what it takes to be the best of the best.

Read more: 2012 Champion - Delio Senatore


2011 Champion - Delio Senatore


Read more...As Australians, we've always had great admiration for the 'battler', the competitor who doesn't have it easy right from the start, the one who has the biggest hurdle to clear. We celebrate courage, persistence, and a never-say-die attitude above all else. It's no wonder that a lot of spectators left the recent National All Styles Australian Championships feeling inspired, for this time around the Champion of Champions titles were taken, in both the male and female divisions, by competitors who narrowly missed out on victory the year before. Blitz spoke to karate aces Sherry Bower and Delio Senatore to get an insight into their winning ways.

Read more: 2011 Champion - Delio Senatore


2010 Champion - Dean Gould


Nine years ago, Dean Gould found himself torn between the rugby field and the karate dojo. Somewhere between diligently practising his kata and fiercely battling the rugby scrum, Dean realised he didn't have the time to commit himself fully to both activities and that he had to make a choice. Three months ago his decision to choose karate was rewarded in the form of a shiny trophy and belt to signify his new title of National All Styles Champion of Champions.

Read more: 2010 Champion - Dean Gould


2009 Champion - Luke Croxford


The 2009 National All-Styles Australian Championships came to a thrilling conclusion in Melbourne on 28–29 November, with Luke Croxford walking away with the men’s Champion of Champions belt, and Samantha Palmer amazingly picking up a record-breaking third straight Champion of Champions win. We talked to these karate champions to find out more about their winning ways.

Read more: 2009 Champion - Luke Croxford

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »